Current Location: Homepage > 教育协调委员会 > About Us

SEAMEO QITEP in Science Indonesia

Jl. Diponegoro 12 Bandung, West Java, Indonesia 40115

+62 22 4218739

The Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organisation (SEAMEO) Regional Centre for Quality Improvement of Teachers and Education Personnel (QITEP) in Science, which is also known as SEAQIS, was established on 13 July 2009 by approval of the 44th SEAMEO Council Conference in Phuket, Thailand with vision to be the Centre of excellence in professional development of teachers and education personnel in science towards sustainable development in Southeast Asia. The establishment of the Centre indicated Indonesian Government’s commitment to contribute significantly to strengthening science education through quality improvement of science teachers in Southeast Asia.

SEAQIS has determined Inquiry-Based Science Education (IBSE) as its niche. Thus, IBSE becomes the basic philosophy and major strategy of all programmes conducted by SEAQIS within the scope of professional teacher improvement. In carrying out its mandate and to achieve the goals to become a Centre of excellence in IBSE, the Centre has identified three Program Thrusts: 1) Professional Teacher Development; 2) Learning Resources Development; and 3) Professional Learning Communities.

In organising its programmes, the Centre is supported by national and international partner institutions and companies. Some of the reputable partners which have collaborated with the Centre are Smithsonian Institution; Australian Academy of Technology and Science (ATSE); International Science, Technology and Innovation Centre for South-South Cooperation under the auspices of UNESCO (ISTIC), Malaysia; La Main à la pâte (LAMAP) Foundation, France; China Association for Science and Technology (CAST); Children and Youth Science Center (CYSC), China, Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science and Technology (IPST), Thailand; Korean National University of Education (KNUE); Indonesian Academy of Sciences; Orica Mining Services, Australia; and Total E & P Indonesia.